Paint Every Day; #PaintAnyway

IMG_20160802_001914
“Wee Landscape #1″ oil on canvas; 2×3”

Repeat after me:

I don’t owe it to anyone that every single piece of art I sling out be amazing.
I don’t owe it to anyone to be the next Rembrandt, Van Gogh, Warhol, or Picasso.
I don’t owe it to anyone to take myself so seriously that I wont play and explore.
It’s okay to paint crap and goof off so long as I’m painting.

This month I’ll be painting every single day. They won’t have to be a particular size or subject matter, and they won’t even have to be completed in the day’s sitting – but I will be painting every single day in August. I wont call it a “challenge,” I wont make a set of rules, and I wont call to the masses to participate with me (though you can if you want). I’m just going to be painting every single day in August.

I’m worried I’m no good, I’m worried that it’s a dying craft, I’m worried that I’ve pigeonholed myself into a specialized hobby masquerading as a viable career.

However, I love to paint. So I’m going to paint anyway.

13707054_1017244384991028_911206418_n
“Self Portrait Sketch” oil on hardboard
2 thoughts on “Paint Every Day; #PaintAnyway

Leave a Reply

